Skagit-Island-San Juan School Retirees' Association Unit 21
Childhood is a journey, not a race.
Welcome to the Skagit, Island & San Juan School Retirees' Website. Here's what you'll find on our site:
Who We Are
Photo Gallery
Washington State School Retirees Association (1947)

Skagit-Island-San Juan
School Retirees

P. O. Box 66
Burlington, WA 98233-9998

View Our Contact List


January 26, 2018

To: WSSRA Legislative Email Distribution List

This is an urgent legislative action alert. You need to act if a Plan 1 COLA is important to you.

Four Plan 1 COLA bills have received public hearings and are sitting in committee waiting for a vote. House Bill 2511 is in the House Appropriations Committee. Senate Bills 6290, 6305, and 6340 are in the Senate Ways and Means Committee. The deadline to move these bills out of committee is February 6th.

If your legislators are on House Appropriations or Senate Ways & Means Committees, please ask them to vote Plan 1 COLA legislation out of committee. If they are not on those committees, ask them to talk with their colleagues who are. A draft message could read:

Senator / Representative ______ , Please vote a Plan 1 COLA bill out of committee. This is extremely important to me and my former colleagues. It has been nearly eight years since the state has granted a COLA for Plan 1 retirees. Every other retirement plan receives a COLA EVERY YEAR! This is unfair and inequitable, especially since these plans are predominately women and widows, while the plans that receive COLAs are dominated by men. It's not about money, it's about priorities. When will retirees who devoted their careers to the children of the this state be a priority?

The time to act is now. If a COLA is important to you, this is your chance. The legislature will not be in session again until 2019. Contact information for House Appropriations Committee Members and Senate Ways and Means Committee Members is listed below.


Peter Diedrick, Legislative Director
Washington State School Retirees' Association
(360) 413-5496

For contact information, click here: Legislator Contact Information. Personal legislator emails all use the format of If you don't want to send an email, you can call the legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000.

Senate Ways and Means Committee:

Christine Rolfes, Chair, 23rd (Kitsap County) (360) 786-7644
David Frockt, Vice-Chair, 46th (Seattle) (360) 786-7690
Andy Billig, 3rd (Spokane) (360) 786-7604
Reuven Carlyle, 36th (Seattle) (360) 786-7670
Steve Conway, 29th (Tacoma) (360) 786-7656
Jeannie Darneille, 27th (Tacoma) (360) 786-7652
Bob Hasegawa, 11th (Renton) (360) 786-7616
Sam Hunt, 22nd (Olympia) (360) 786-7642
Karen Keiser, 33rd (Sea-Tac) (360) 786-7664
Mark Mullet, 5th (Snoqualmie) (360) 786-7608
Kevin Ranker, 40th (San Juan County) (360) 786-7678
Jamie Pedersen, 43rd (Seattle) (360) 786-7628
Guy Palumbo, 1st (Bothell) (360) 786-7600
Kevin Van De Wege, 24th (Port Angeles) (360) 786-7646
John Braun, 20th (Chehalis) (360) 786-7638
Jim Honeyford, 15th (Yakima) (360) 786-7684
Barbara Bailey, 10th (Island County) (360) 786-7618
Randi Becker, 2nd (Yelm) (360) 786-7602
Sharon Brown, 8th (Tri-Cities) (360) 786-7614
Joe Fain, 47th (Covington) (360) 786-7692
Ann Rivers, 17th (Clark County) (360) 786-7632
Mark Schoesler, 9th (Ritzville) (360) 786-7620
Judy Warnick, 13th(Kittitas County) (360) 786-7624
Keith Wagoner, 39th (Monroe) (360) 786-7676

House Appropriations Committee:

Timm Ormsby, Chair, 3rd (Spokane) (360) 786-7604
June Robinson, Vice-Chair, 38th (Everett) (360) 786-7864
Steve Bergquist, 11th (Renton) (360) 786-7862
Eileen Cody, 34th (Seattle) (360) 786-7978
Joe Fitzgibbon, 34th (Seattle) (360) 786-7952
Drew Hansen, 23rd (Kitsap County) (360) 786-7842
Zack Hudgins, 11th (Renton) (360) 786-7956
Laurie Jinkins, 27th (Tacoma) (360) 786-7930
Ruth Kagi, 32nd (Seattle) (360) 786-7910
Kristine Lytton, 40th (San Juan County) (360) 786-7910
Eric Pettigrew, 37th (South Seattle) (360) 786-7838
Gerry Pollet, 46th (Seattle) (360) 786-7886
David Sawyer, 29th (Tacoma) (360) 786-7906
Tana Senn, 41st (Mercer Island) (360) 786-7894
Larry Springer, 45th (Kirkland) (360) 786-7822
Derek Stanford, 1st (Bothell) (360) 786-7928
Pat Sullivan, 47th (Covington) (360) 786-7858
Steve Tharinger, 24th (Port Angeles) (360) 786-7904
Bruce Chandler, 15th (Yakima) (360) 786-7960
Drew MacEwan, 35th (Mason County) (360) 786-7902
Drew Stokesbary, 31st (Auburn) (360) 786-7846
Vincent Buys, 42nd (Whatcom County) (360) 786-7854
Michelle Caldier, 26th (Bremerton) (360) 786-7802
Cary Condotta, 12th (Wenatchee) (360) 786-7954
Larry Haler, 8th (Tri-Cities) (360) 786-7986
Paul Harris, 17th (Clark County) (360) 786-7986
Matt Manweller, 13th (Ellensburg) (360) 786-7808
Terry Nealy, 16th (Walla Walla) (360) 786-7828
Joe Schmick, 9th (SE Washington) (360) 786-7844
David Taylor, 15th (Yakima) (360) 786-7874
Brandon Vick, 18th (Clark County) (360) 786-7850
Mike Volz, 6th (Spokane County) (360) 786-7922
JT Wilcox, 2nd (Yelm) (360) 786-7912

4726 Pacific Avenue
Lacey, WA 98503

Click on this link to go to the State WSSRA website.
This is a good place to read the latest journal and learn about current legislative efforts.


10th District

Senator Barbara Bailey
1098 IRV Newhouse Bldg.
P.O. Box 40410
Olympia, WA 98504
Representative Dave Hayes
467 John O'Brien Bldg.
P.O. Box 40600
Olympia, WA 98504
Representative Norma Smith
435 John O'Brien Bldg.
P.O. Box 40600
Olympia, WA 98504

39th District

Senator Kirk Pearson
115D IRV Newhouse Bldg.
P.O Box 40439
Olympia, WA 98504
Representative Dan Kristiansen
335C Legislative Bldg.
P.O. Box 40600
Olympia, WA 98504
Representative Jeff Morris
436 A. Legislative Bldg.
P.O. Box 40600
Olympia, WA 98504

40th District

Senator Kevin Ranker
215 John A. Cherberg Bldg.
P.O. Box 40440
Olympia, WA 98504
Representative Jeff Morris
436 A Legislative Bldg.
P. O. Box 40600
Olympia, WA 98504
Representative Kristine Lytton
310 John A. Cherberg Bldg.
P.O. Box 40600
Olympia, WA 98504